We have been using Gmail for quite some time, but rarely do we know about the ‘Confidential’ mode present in it. With the help of this mode, users can send such mails from their account, which expire after being read. With this, the receiver can not copy, forward or download the content of the sent mail. So if you also have to do any important mail, which you want to be deleted after a while, then you can use this confidential mode. Let’s know its complete process …
For Web (Computer / Laptop) Version
- For this, first you have to login by opening Gmail in the browser.
- After this you have to click on ‘Compose Mail’, just like you do to send any new mail.
- Now a lock icon will appear on the right side of the ‘Send’ button, you will have to click on it. You will see this icon with icons like Drive, Gallery.
- Now a pop-up window will appear in front of you. In this, you will get the option to select how much time your message will expire.
- In this, you will get many options. For example, for security you can put a passcode on the mail. This will prevent the receiver from opening the mail without entering the passcode.
- Now the notification will appear at the bottom of the message that you are sending mail in Confidence Mode.
How to use Mobile App
- Login to the Gmail app on your Android or iOS device. Then open the compose mail screen in it.
- Here, tap on the three dots shown in the top right corner and select ‘Confidential Mode’.
- In this, you will get the option to choose the settings related to the expiration of this message.
- Like the web, you can also protect the passcode of the mail in the app, which will be received by the receiver. After this you have to send the message by writing.
- You will see in a small window that you are sending mail in Confidential mode.
- Explain that G-Suite users who use for business can also use confidential mode. It will automatically be enabled for users using Gmail for business. But managers can also disable this feature if they wish.