Do you remember those Jelly Babies that everyone ate when you were a kid? After seeing how they are made, they will NEVER NEVER want to eat gelatin-based candy again!
Most people probably ate gelatin-based candy at some point in their lives. Gelatinous babies, rubber bears, snakes, etc. Well, they may not even want to approach them after they see how they are made.
They probably know they are made of gelatin, but this short film by Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens will show you where that gelatin comes from. Nor are sweets, foods like marshmallows, corn candy, trifles and other desserts also use gelatin in their production. Gelatin is everywhere. Even in shampoos, masks and cosmetic products.
What’s in gelatin?
The video shows how the gelatin is made in reverse of the wrapped candies, all the way back to the live pig. It is produced directly from the skin of pigs and mixed with sugar and flavor to obtain the sweets that so many children (and adults) love and eat today. Other ingredients include tendons, ligaments, bones, fish by-products and other bovine skins, mainly cows. Take a look at this developer clip.
Can I ever eat candy again?
Not all hope is lost. Understandably, you may not want to eat these sweets again. However, there are many vegan substitutes who know almost the same thing. One of the most popular substitutes is agar, a gelatin-like substance obtained from algae that is much less creepy than the pork gelatin that you are probably more used to eating. I’m not a vegan
However, this short film has taken away the gelatin-based sweets for a long time. To think that something so sweet comes from here is frightening. These innocent sweets that were once a sugary sweet on the weekend have turned into a grim nightmare that I will never see again.