Is it really possible to earn $ 100,000 a year with Google AdSense (or selling ads on your website / blog)? If so, then the real question is how much traffic do you really need to make a lot of money with Google AdSense?
While it’s true that we can not exactly predict Google AdSense revenue, we can optimize ads in different ways to get the most out of it.
Also Read :How to Make Money on Youtube
In addition, you must ensure that the category of your website is advertising because your AdSense income depends a lot on the category of your website. You can use the Google AdWords Keyword Planner tool to learn about the competition in your sector.
If there is enough competition (that is, if the offer suggested by AdWords for keywords in your niche is high), we can assume that Google will fill your advertising space with high-paying ads (see how AdSense works).
For example, if you search for “loans” on Google, you will see many ads, which means that if you have a blog related to personal finance, there will be enough competition for your advertising space.
Now I’ve added some keywords to the random keyword planner to find out what your suggested offer is for AdWords. Are here:
As you can see, the competition for keywords related to “finances” is very high compared to keywords related to “food”. Of course, the suggested offer is just an estimate and the actual cost per click varies a lot.
But still, even if they are $ 5 then it means a lot. Why? This is because the cost per click advertised on Google is very high compared to the cost per click on the Google Display Network. Therefore, if an advertiser pays $ 0.50 / click on Google, they may only pay $ 0.10 / click on the Google Display Network.
How Much Traffic Do You Need To Make Money With AdSense
Let’s say you want to earn $ 100,000 a year with the Google AdSense and / or Google AdSense alternatives.
$ 100,000 divided by 365 = $ 274 per day.
Then, you must create: 274 pages that earn $ 1 per day OR 548 pages that earn 50 cents per day OR 1,096 pages that earn 25 cents per day (which seems reasonable, right?). Let’s say you have 1,096 high-quality blog posts and earn $ 0.25 for each AdSense click.
Also Read :Gmail gets a Strikethrough Button
I have analyzed AdSense traffic and statistics (using Google Image Search) from various websites, including my own blogs and websites.
From my analysis, I found that the average page CTR is around 1% (or is something that we can easily achieve). But it really depends on your niche, website design and other factors.
In fact, I achieved a page CTR of more than 20% in 2007 for a specialized website and earned $ 100 + per day with Google AdSense alone.
Let’s do the math to earn $ 100,000 a year with Google AdSense
Suppose you have a page CTR of 1% and your average CPC is $ 0.25 (I think it’s an achievable goal unless your keywords do not have advertiser competition, for example, a recipe blog).
Some of the most paid AdSense niches are Finance, Internet Marketing, Technology, Web Hosting, Internet and Computers, Software, Health, etc. and some of the AdSense niches that pay less are Entertainment, Arts, Movies, Celebrity Gossips, News Blog, Jokes, Wallpapers, quotes, recipes, photo blogs, etc.
As mentioned earlier, $ 100,000 a year means you have to earn $ 274 a day. If your average CPC is $ 0.25, then you need 100,000 / 0.25 = 400,000 clicks per year (or approximately 1,000 clicks per day) to earn $ 100,000 per year from Google AdSense. Assuming that the CTR of your page is 1%, you need approximately 100,000 page views per day.
Now, let’s say that your “bounce rate” (is the estimated percentage of visits to your website that consists of a single page) is 100%. It means that you need 100,000 unique visitors per day to generate 100,000 page views per day.
In short, you need 100,000 visitors a day to earn $ 100,000 a year with Google AdSense alone (with a CTR of 1% and a CPC of $ 0.25).
Google AdSense Glossary
A page view is what Google counts in your reports every time a user views a page displaying Google ads. We will count one page view regardless of the number of ads displayed on that page.
For example, if you have a page displaying three ad units and it is viewed twice, you will generate two page views.
For standard content ads, Google counts a click when a user clicks on an ad.
For link units, Google counts a click when a user clicks on an ad on the page of ads, after selecting a link in the link unit.
Page Click Through Rate (Page CTR)
The Page Click Through Rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of impressions or page views that you have received.
Page CTR = Clicks / Page Views
For example, if you received 5 Clicks from 100 Page Views, then your Page CTR would be 5%. (5/100*100=5%)
Cost Per Click (CPC)
The Cost Per Click (CPC) is the amount you earn each time a user clicks on your ad. The CPC for any ad is determined by the advertiser; some advertisers may be willing to pay more per click than others, depending on what they’re advertising.
Page Revenue Per Thousand Impressions (Page RPM)
Page Revenue Per Thousand Impressions (RPM) is calculated by dividing your estimated earnings by the number of page views you received, then multiplying by 1000.
Page RPM = (Estimated Earnings / Number of Page Views) * 1,000
For example, if you earned an estimated $0.15 from 25 page views, then your page RPM would equal ($0.15 / 25) * 1000, or $6.00.
Your account balance (or earnings) for the time period selected.
Source: Google AdSense Glossary
Cost Per Impression (CPM)
So let’s say you’re selling direct banner ads and you’re also selling CPM advertising, which again is an effective way to monetize your website.
What are CPM ads?
CPM (cost per mile) means cost per 1,000 impressions. CPM networks pay for every 1,000 impressions it generates. If a CPM ad network is paying you $ 1 of CPM, then it means that you are paying $ 1 for every 1,000 visits it generates.
The profits of the CPM network depend entirely on the quality of your traffic, but you can expect between $ 1 and $ 3 for every 1,000 impressions. Therefore, if you generate 100,000 page views per day, you can earn between $ 100 and $ 300 per day from CPM Networks. Again, you can earn between $ 100 and $ 300 (or even more) per day by selling banner ads directly to advertisers.
Now, you can divide the traffic into three, since you are earning $ 300 each from 3 ad networks. It means you need 100,000 / 3 = 33,333 unique visitors per day (with a bounce rate of 100%) to earn approximately $ 274 / day.
Again, if you have an authority blog, your bounce rate will never be 100%. In that case, you can expect an average page view of 1.5 per user. It means that 50% of your visitors leave the home page and others visit more than one page on your website.
In total, you need approximately 20,000 visitors a day to generate more than 30,000 page views and you can earn $ 274 per day, which translates to $ 100,000 per year in advertising revenue.
Do you need a little more help to reach that goal of $ 100,000 / year? Add commissions from the Affiliate Programs also in the equation and you can reach that goal of $ 100,000 with much less traffic.
In fact, in 2008 it had an average of $ 200 + per day of less than 200 unique visitors per day with affiliate marketing. It was possible because when it comes to affiliate marketing, it’s all about the quality of the traffic and not the amount of traffic.
How to Optimize Google AdSense
You can optimize your AdSense ads in several ways. For example, you can try text ads only, image ads only, text and image ads to find out which ad format is working best.
Google recommends wide ad formats like 728 x 90, 336 x 280, 300 x 250 and 160 x 600, as they are more user-friendly for advertisers.
When you use the recommended ad formats, your AdSense ads should perform well due to increased competition. Why? Because ad formats recommended by AdSense are the most popular ad formats and, therefore, almost all advertisers must target those ad formats.
Therefore, competition increases naturally and Google will display the highest paid ads on your website. But it’s also a good idea to try different ad formats since Google now offers a variety of ad formats (including response ad units).
I would recommend the A / B tests on your website to find the ad formats with the best performance. For example, you can perform A / B tests by testing different types of ads, ad formats, ad colors, and then placing your ads in different sections of your website (up and down the fold) to find out which position offers the best CTR) .
But, what happens if your AdSense earnings are low even if you have a good CTR? In that case, I would recommend ad controls, although Google mentioned that blocking any ad will reduce our potential profits.
It’s a myth that filtering ads can prevent ‘low-paying ads’ from appearing, so as always, we recommend blocking only those ads that you feel are unsuitable for your users.
Finally, you can adjust the AdSense click rate by using a friendly AdSense template for your website / blog. But make sure your website is not too heavy, as it will have a negative impact on the user experience.
And as always, you can concentrate on creating impressive content and generating more traffic to increase your Google AdSense revenue (and your advertising revenue) naturally.